As GIF, we use essential cookies for the provision of the Website and information society services. You may review the Cookie Privacy Notice for detailed information on the type of cookie used by GIF and purposes.



GRF and European Leadership Network (ELN) Meeting of the “Task Force on Cooperation in Greater Europe” on Cyber, Space and LAWS

GRF and European Leadership Network (ELN)
Meeting of the “Task Force on Cooperation in Greater Europe”
on Cyber, Space and LAWS
April 9, 2019


The “Task Force on Cooperation in Greater Europe” brings forward proposals to allow all countries of the region to decisively break with the costly legacy of the Cold War and focus more effectively on meeting the emerging political, economic, and security challenges of the 21st century. It addresses the causes of current levels of mistrust between key countries and actors in the region, has confidence-building as a central theme in its deliberations, and sets out a rationale and vision for a cooperative Greater Europe and a range of practical steps necessary to move the international relations of the continent in that direction.

The meeting of the Task Force on “Prospects for Arms Control in the Cyber, Outer Space and Autonomous Weapons Domains”, organized by GRF and European Leadership Network (ELN), was held on April 9, 2019 at Divan Istanbul Hotel.

During the meeting, participants listened to the leading experts on issues that affect Europe and the rest of the world, such as cyber-operations, outer space arms control and the regulation of autonomous weapons systems. The participants also shared their views on the draft Task Force Position Paper.

The list of participants are as follows:

- Rt. Hon. Lord Browne of Ladyton (Des Browne), Member of Parliament of the United Kingdom; Chair, European Leadership Network

- Ret. Gen. Vincenzo Camporini, Former Chief of the Joint Defence Staff; former Chief of Staff of the Air Force

- Hikmet Çetin, Former Speaker of the Grand National Assembly of Turkey; Former Minister of Foreign Affairs; former NATO Sen. Civilian Representative to Afghanistan

- Dr. Andrew Futter, Associate Professor of International Politics, Director of Research for Politics & IR, University of Leicester

- Jonathan Herbach, Research Director, European Leadership Network - Memduh Karakullukçu, Vice-Chairman and President, Global Relations Forum

- Prof. Mustafa Kibaroğlu, Professor of International Relations; Dean of the Faculty of Economics, Administrative and Social Sciences, MEF University

- Andrey Kortunov, Director General and Member of the Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC)

- Prof. Vadim Kozyulin, Researcher, PIR Center for Policy Studies

- Dr. Katarzyna Kubiak, Policy Fellow, European Leadership Network

- Prof. Sergio Marchisio, Chairman of the European Centre for Space Law (ECSL) within the European Space Agency

- Janusz Onyszkiewicz, Former Defence Minister and Chair, Executive Council, Euro-Atlantic Association

- Ambassador Özdem Sanberk, Former Ambassador to the United Kingdom; Former Under Secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

- Ambassador Rakesh Sood, Former Ambassador to Afghanistan, Nepal and France; Former Special Envoy of the Prime Minister for Disarmament and Non-proliferation Issues

- Sir Adam Thomson, Director, European Leadership Network; former UK Permanent Representative to NATO

- Ambassador Ahmet Üzümcü, Former Director General of the Organization for the Prevention of Chemical Weapons (OPCW); former Ambassador

- Ret. Brigadier General Klaus Wittmann, Former Bundeswehr General; Senior Fellow, Aspen Institute Germany

- Ambassador Yaşar Yakış, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs; Former Ambassador