As GIF, we use essential cookies for the provision of the Website and information society services. You may review the Cookie Privacy Notice for detailed information on the type of cookie used by GIF and purposes.

GRF – ELN – RIAC – PISM – “Task Force on Cooperation in Greater Europe”

The Task Force on Cooperation in Greater Europe brings forward proposals to allow all countries of the region to decisively break with the costly legacy of the Cold War and focus more effectively on meeting the emerging political, economic, and security challenges of the 21st century. It addresses the causes of current levels of mistrust between key countries and actors in the region, has trust-building as a central theme in its deliberations, and sets out a rationale and vision for a cooperative Greater Europe and a range of practical steps necessary to move the international relations of the continent in that direction.

The Task Force is supported by, and draws on, independent analytical work by the European Leadership Network (ELN), the Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC), the Polish Institute of International Affairs (PISM), and the Global Relations Forum (GRF). The Task Force is made possible by generous support from the Carnegie Corporation of New York and the Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI).

Please click to read the Task Force’s position paper entitled “Managing the Cold Peace between Russia and the West”.

Please click to read the Task Force’s position paper entitled "Towards a NATO - Russia Basic Understanding".

Please click to read the Task Force’s talking points for the most recent roundtable meeting on the "Challenges of Emerging Military Technologies".

The Task Force has the following confirmed membership:

  • Igor S. Ivanov, former Foreign Minister, President, Russian International Affairs Council, Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Des Browne, former Defence Secretary (UK) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Adam Daniel Rotfeld, former Foreign Minister, (Poland) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Malcolm Rifkind, former Foreign and Defence Secretary (UK);
  • Özdem Sanberk, former Undersecretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Turkey) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Ana Palacio, former Foreign Minister (Spain);
  • Vyacheslav I. Trubnikov, former Director, Russian Foreign Intelligence, General (Rtd) and former Ambassador (Russia);
  • Paul Quilès, former Defence Minister (France);
  • Mikhail Margelov, Vice President of Transneft, former Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Russian Federation Council (Russia);
  • Hervé Morin, President of the Normandy Region and former Defense Minister and Leader of the New Center party (France);
  • Georgy Mamedov, former Ambassador to Canada and former Adviser to President Putin (Russia).
  • Angela Kane, former UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs (Germany);
  • Volker Ruehe, former Defence Minister (Germany);
  • Tarja Cronberg, former Member of the European Parliament and former Director of the Copenhagen Peace Research Institute (Finland);
  • Hikmet Cetin, former Foreign Minister (Turkey);
  • Tony Brenton, former Ambassador to Russia (UK);
  • Pierre Lellouche, former Secretary of State for European Affairs and Foreign Trade (France);
  • Vitaly V. Zhurkin, Director Emeritus of the RAS Institute of Europe, RAS Full Member (Russia);
  • Klaus Wittman, former General of the Bundeswehr (Germany);
  • Borys Tarasyuk, former Foreign Minister (Ukraine);
  • Igor Yu. Yurgens, Chairman of the Board of the Institute of Contemporary Development, Vice President of the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs (Russia);
  • Anatoliy Adamishin, former Deputy Foreign Minister and Ambassador to the UK, President of the Association of Euro-Atlantic Cooperation, and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Russian Federation (Russia);
  • Ruslan S. Grinberg, Director of RAS Institute of Economics, Corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia);
  • Alexei Gromyko, Director of the Institute of Europe of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IE RAS) (Russia);
  • Anatoliy Torkunov, Rector of Moscow State Institute of International Relations of the RF MFA, RAS Full Member, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Russian Federation (Russia).